Skip navigation

Beacon Award

Mercy’s ICU team together with executive leadership


The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently conferred a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence on the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at Catholic Health’s Mercy Hospital. The award — a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments — recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year recognition meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award. The ICU team also received this award in 2018.

Earning a Beacon Award signifies how Mercy Hospital’s ICU nurses use continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care. They earned this recognition by meeting the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

Units that receive the Beacon Award set the standard for excellence in patient care environments by collecting and using evidence-based information to improve patient outcomes, as well as patient, family and staff satisfaction.

For patients and their families, the Beacon Award signifies exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall satisfaction.

For nurses, a Beacon Award means a positive and supportive work environment with greater collaboration between colleagues and leaders.

Mercy Hospital will hold this designation for three years. For more information about the Beacon Award for Excellence, click here

browser error

Browser Error

Diagnosis: Our website no longer supports this web browser.

Treatment: Please use one of the following browsers for the best possible outcome.

  • edge web browser iconEdge
  • chrome web browser iconChrome
  • safari web browser iconSafari
  • firefox web browser iconFirefox